Olympic Rant #2

Geez, I can’t believe what I saw tonight. I turned on NBC and saw skiiers with plastic shin guards from bood to above the knee. I thought that was odd until I saw that they were slalom skiiers, and that the shin guards were used to crash into every gate, bending them down. I thought the idea of slalom was to go AROUND the gates, not knock them down. I have an idea. They should replace all the gates with iron stakes driven into the ground so that slalom can be done the way it was meant to be. I’m sure skiiers are faster today, but it seems unfair to old record-holders who actually had to ski around the gates instead of through them.

Leave a Reply

