Outlook FU**D Up! RSS Too Complicated!

Geeze, I hate Outlook. And yet I use it, because the Calendar is pretty nice. I’m just amazed at how the premier email program in the world can be so difficult to work with. I have no idea how to back up emails, or how I’d get them back if I did know how to back them up. Actually, that’s not true. I think when push comes to shove I can export messages and import them back in, but it isn’t as easy as it should be. And it keeps changing the options, like now I can’t click on a link in an email. I know which links I want and which I don’t, but who told Outlook it could change the option. Must’ve been in that last security update. Grrr. I hate you Microsoft! People don’t need any more features in Office, ok? Simplify. Or I’ll go to OpenOffice. I mean it. Or maybe Thunderbird.

And RSS (the language distribution mechanism for blogs and podcasts)! I know it’s still ‘pretty new’ technology, but it’s confusing for a lot of users. If you poing on a link to the RSS file for someone’s podcast you see the XML code for the feed, which is not what you want. It’s getting better, iTunes and other software are not getting setup with buttons on web pages that you can click to subscribe, but not everyone’s doing that. There needs to be a standard subscribe mechanism so you don’t have to have a custom button for each different program. Once again, I offer problems but no solutions.

Speaking of podcasts, maybe I’ll have one soon. It’s amazing how many good programs there are, and how much money some people put into their equipment. I’m just going to have to make due with what I have. A computer, and a microphone, and my wits. Ha!

Leave a Reply

