To Do, Ta Ta, and Joe. Get 'er done!

About a year and a half ago, or more, I learned of and embraced David Allen’s Getting Things Done system of self-management. While I was doing it I felt as if I was a super-productive organizational machine. At least relative to my regular day-to-day MO.

Somehow I fell off the wagon and back to my standard, inefficient, time-wasting ways.

So recently, I decided to repent from my less organized ways and try to recapture the magic, utilizing some of the excellent free online tools. The one at the core is TODOIST (www.todoist.com). TODOIST is a ToDo list, but much, more. It is more of a project management list, which allows the user to create projects, with sub-projects, and assign tasks, with sub-tasks, to each. Tasks can be assigned priorities and due dates, and be re-ordered with ease. You can also list priorities in a variety of useful ways.

For “real” ToDo list, Ta-da List (www.tadalist.com) allows you to create multiple lists and check them off as you complete them. Short, sweet, and clean.

The third leg holding up my new organized paradigm is Joes‘ Goals (www.joesgoals.com). I don’t know who “Joe” is, as it was created by a guy named Ian. It’s a way to list your daily goals, and assign them a point value, either positive or negative. You click and a check mark, or two, appears, tracking your success. It’s a way to keep up with the things you want to turn into habits, like brushing your teeth, or writing a blog entry.

There are many productivity tools on line, Remember The Milk, is one that you hear about a lot, but these are currently working great for me.

Leave a Reply

